Should I hide upload file information after user have uploaded 1 or more files

by beepsters   Last Updated August 13, 2019 10:16 AM

I have some information that I show in my upload form: - The limit of file size - Available file formats to upload

Should I hide this information after user have uploaded 1 or more files? Images attached

File(s) not uploaded: enter image description here

File(s) uploaded: enter image description here



Answers 1


I would advice against removing critical information from the screen.

From the screenshots you've provided, I don't see any way of bringing back the information about the file size. Just because the user already performed a valid action, doesn't mean there isn't a chance of them forgetting the instructions or making a mistake.

The problem will become more pronounced if the user tries to upload in bulk. Just imagine having to show 20 errors for wrong file size and the effort the user would have go through to correct the mistake.

Just like you don't remove the, "Drag here or browse to upload files" instruction, keep the instruction about the file sizes, format, etc. also available on the screen. You can, however, choose to minimize it even though it isn't the best practice.

Shreyas Tripathy
Shreyas Tripathy
August 13, 2019 09:46 AM

Related Questions





User uploading logo with no transparency

Updated November 30, 2017 13:16 PM