I'm working in an Exchange email environment and syncing to my email and calendar with the stock Mail application on Android Nougat. When a delegate creates a meeting on my calendar and explicitly includes me as an attendee, I get a confirmation email, which is what I would expect. I can delete that email through my pc client (Outlook) and it has no impact on the meeting, also expected. If I delete the confirmation email from my phone, the meeting is removed from my calendar on the next sync, which is a big surprise.
Has anyone else seen this before? Is this a bug, or intended behavior? How might I better understand how or why this happens? If there are answers on the Internet I am clearly using the wrong search terms.